What got you into Pokemon?

So I thought that, while this site is new and growing, I bring in a worthwhile discussion that should help with this as well, that I haven’t seen yet.

For me, it all started one fateful Christmas in 2002. Under the tree, there was a box-shaped present for me, and when I opened it, it contained a Game Boy Advance, and a copy of Super Mario World and Pokemon Ruby. The moment I started playing Ruby, I was hooked despite the fact I did get stuck at a lot of points due to not knowing what to do or even what some words meant.

The TV is what got be into pokemon, ahahah.

At my grandma’s house, we watch Island of the Giant Pokemon and Bye Bye Butterfree and I loved it even though those are some really weird episodes. Soon, we GameBoy Colors with Pokemon Blue and Red, me and my sister!

Yeah I too got into Pokemon from the anime, didn’t get into the games until Saphhire/Ruby actually.

There was also a short period where I would collect the trading cards, but I stopped that around the time the cards began showing off the Johto Pokemon.

I actually got some cards for my birthday or maybe it was christmas once? Anyways I really liked the designs (the art was amazing omg) and I got into having “battles” with my neighbors. He played the videogames and lent me his Gameboy once where I could play leafgreen with a new save and young me just loved it!

Afterwards, I played the games vigorously buying my own systems and a copy of every game. I played with the trading cards and got a decent sized collection over 2 years, but I eventually stopped before I found the anime. Since then I’ve played every game up to US/UM and I’ve watched the Anime up till 20 episodes back (I’ve fallen behind rip).