Absolute Beginner's Mafia - Day 3

Absolute Beginner's Mafia - Day 3

Absolute Beginner’s Mafia

You want to learn how to play mafia? Perfect! This game is intended for beginners, but also to polish existing skills. Below we’ll host a FAQ and explain some basic concepts, make sure to read them.

What is mafia?

The game is divided by two main groups: the mafia and the town. At the start of the game, night falls and the mafia members will know each other’s identities, whereas the town does not. What does this mean? Is the Town at a disadvantage? No, the town’s advantage is in the numbers. They have to wipe out the entire mafia faction to win, whereas the mafia only have to outnumber the town or get to a point where it is no longer possible for the town to win. During the Night Phase, the thread is considered locked and no one can post, doing so will result in your death, and the mafia will discuss and kill one player of their choosing, and every player with a Power Role will decide their actions, more about roles later! During the Day Phase, all players can resume discussion and with deduction from the town, cast a vote to lynch someone, or by deception of the mafia.

What are roles?

A role can be taught as an ability or lack thereof. Roles without abilities are often called vanilla. There are hundreds of roles and sometimes the Game Master, or GM, for short, can make up new roles. Most common roles can be the Cop, which can use their action during the Night Phase and investigate someone, learning their alignment; cop is usually sided with the town. Another very common role is the Doctor, which can protect a player from death, also sided with the town. A very common mafia role is the Hooker, which can prevent a player from using their action during the night. Roleblocking is usually of the highest priority in night actions, that means, their action will always be performed before other roles.

Optional, but useful information: